Smokefree Rockquest and Tangata Beats Southland Regional Finals

A massive congratulations to the 2 bands and 5 solo/duo acts who competed in the Smokefree Rockquest and Tangata Beats Southland Regional Finals at the Civic Theatre last night. EVERY one of the JHC acts took out an award which is a phenomenal effort   




Well done to the following students:


1st place band: Abulia. Maia Fletcher (Year 10), Ingamar Siegruhn (Year 11), Luke Wheeler (Year 11), James Brown (Year 11), & Finn Cruickshank (Year 1).


2nd place band: The Terrace. Ailin Pekar, Blake Humphrey, Jackson Jones, & Aiden Hosie (all Year 12). 


1st place solo/duo Rockquest: Holly Muirhead (Year 13). 


1st place solo/duo Tangata Beats: Kiera Rogers (Year 13).


  the ZM Best Song Award: Kiera Rogers.


  APRA Lyric Writers Award: Darcy Herrick (Year 13).


Musicianship Awards: 

  Ailin Pekar (Year 12 – solo/duo Rockquest & vocalist – The Terrace).

  Kate & Téa. Kate McNaughton & Téa Rooney (Year 13 – solo/duo Rockquest and Tangata Beats).


Well done to everyone! Abulia, The Terrace, Holly Muirhead, and Kiera Rogers now all qualify to submit video submissions for the next stage to make the NZ top 20 (with the final stage then being cut down to the NZ top 10 bands and solo/duos). 


Thank you to everyone who supported the bands and solo/duo acts 


Thank you to those who assisted our students to achieve such fantastic results.

Ka pai te mahi o nga akonga me nga kaiako.