Boys' Rugby

IMG_0615 (1)

The year started with the senior players taking on a Chilean-Argentinian team in the first week of March.  The game and BBQ that followed was a fantastic start to the season.  

In 2017 teams competed in the Southland wide Under 14, 2nd XV, 1st XV and Girl’s competitions.

Once again, heartfelt thanks to Paul Tomlins, George Wishart, Mike Mika, Simon Richardson (Under 14) Stu Harvey, Rhiane Copland, Mark Tinnock, Matt Pope, (2nd XV) David Innes, Glenn Taylor, Tanya Haywood (1st XV), Aloma Williams, Gareth Oliver and Lisa Tou (Girls) for their commitment in coaching, managing and supporting our teams through their considerable and time intensive volunteer efforts. Our teams are incredibly grateful for everything that you have done.

Bex Murdoch joined the Club as Rugby Administrator this season.

Throughout the season, competitive and hard fought games were the norm on Saturdays with Under 14s winning the Bowl final, and the 1st XV making the plate final of their respective competitions. Interschool games against Taieri and Wakatipu were highlights for many. As was the senior squad win against English team Queen Elizabeth Grammar 3rd XV during the July break.  

Major award winners from the 2017 season:

Craig Morton Referee Trophy – Jaydon Hunter

Junior Rugby Cup – Louis Patterson

Damian Harper Memorial Cup – Bradley Hay

Old Boys Cup – Mark Billows

Irwin Trophy – Sam Mitchell

Brierley Trophy – Tam Clements


Southland representative honours were gained by Connor Elder and Oliver Polaschek at Under 13 level along with Rhys Blaas and Ricky Hopcroft at Under 18 level.

Thanks to Karl Blaas and Grant Harris who are leaving the Rugby Club Committee after many years of sterling service.

Girls' Rugby

Girls’ Rugby in 2017 was, at times, a tough challenge for a group which consisted mainly of novice Year 9 players. The team dug deep throughout the season and produced some great performances. Season highlights included the clash against Wakitipu and the Under 15 Southland and Highlanders Competitions. The team will look to grow in numbers in 2018 with interest in the game growing at Year 7 and 8 level. Ranui Ward captained the First XV team and Taylor Evans captained the Under 15 squad.